Eating Local

April 17, 2010 § Leave a comment

I had a 8am Zumba class at the Mooresville War Memorial this morning. I love Molly’s classes, she is very positive and motivating and her workout rocks! After that I ran home to pick up my brother and we headed to the Davidson Farmers Market. I introduced myself to the meat farmer that we ordered our meat from for our big event yesterday at work. He said that he had met many people from IR that had his meet the previous day, so that is great that not only did people participate in the lunch and learn they took the steps and visited the market to start making a change in the way they eat.

I didn’t eat breakfast because I was rushing around, but I made sure to stop at Summit Coffee in Davidson and got a skim milk box turtle mocha yummy! That at least got some protein in my system for me to keep going without crashing.

This was the last week of the tailgate market, on May 1st it will be the market’s season opener. The tailgate market was pretty big and lots of options. I picked up: arugula, kale, lettuce, green onion, ricotta cheese, jalapeno cheese spread, and eggs. My brother picked up some ostrich meat, bacon and honey.

I then rushed him to work and stopped at the Home Economist in Davidson on the way home. I picked up some ingredients to make my first batch of granola bars. I also picked up some tahini and fruit. I came home and started working on my bars:

After all that and picking up the kitchen, I made myself a nice big salad with a jalapeno spread on fresh baguette:

I hope you all have a great rest of the day!

EAN

Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Eating Local at .

meta

