Vale Commons

April 19, 2010 § Leave a comment

6:30 and I haven’t even done my first post for the day! This morning I started out wanting to get the week off to a good start. I made oats to go with a broken up granola bar and a banana. I made a salad with Kale and Lettuce from Barbee Farms (Concord, NC) and some hard-boiled eggs from Greensboro Talk about local!

Breakfast to go check out my cute new pink spoon!:

I got to work and had an early morning meeting about our big dumpster dive tomorrow. This is where I was reminded about the day’s lunch at Vale Commons on the Davidson College Campus. Vale Commons is an eco-friendly dining hall. The food is made in-house, a lot of ingredients are grown at the college or sourced locally AND they compost! We were invited to eat lunch at the dining hall and then take a tour of the compost facility. I am going to leave my salad and hard-boiled egg for tomorrow’s lunch. At the campus dining hall I had a chicken breast with mango salsa, a rice/spinach bake, steamed brocoli, red potatoes and a little ice milk for desert. I was amazed at how great it was!

The public is allowed to eat there and it is $8.99 for all you can eat …if you are not fortunate enough to have your company buy your lunch 🙂

We had good conversation and then proceed to go to the compost facility. They compost ALL of their food scraps from their dining facilities. Davidson college ROCKS!! I only got to stay for a small portion for the tour because I had to get back for a 2pm meeting 😦 But these were the few pictures I was able to take:

I am still un decided what to do for dinner. It’ tonight like these that taco bell sounds like a good option….but in the process to go unprocessed I will cook something and post about it later 🙂

Happy almost earth day!

EAN

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Vale Commons at .

meta

