Marti Estes 5k

April 24, 2010 § 3 Comments

I survived! My time wasn’t the best in the history of running but I didn’t come in last! I came in at 39:00 on the dot, not to bad considering I am not a runner and the hills that were involved 🙂 I woke up at 6:30 am to start my morning routine. I was ready to go with my music selection and my iPod wouldn’t work 😦 I had this great plan to run while listening to wicked, glee, counting crows and some other of my motivational music…didn’t work out to well. But that’s ok, I was able to smile at people who were watching us run and even carry on conversations with some other runners.

After my running group finished the 5k we met at the stage area and did 3 Zumba routines….my legs were like jelly. This was before the awards ceremony so there were a ton of people watching us, nothing like a dance recital after a run. I had a BLAST!

Before my run I had a banana cut in quarters with almond butter, sunflower seeds and chia seeds. It was the perfect amount of something in my stomach to keep me full and give me energy.

After the race i had a half a banana and some water. I was ready for a snack and new I was out of oats so I decided to head to the Davidson Home Economist to pick up something. I knew I needed some GFree oats so I grabbed those and also got a packaged vegan Gfree meal to go. I really wanted the mac and cheese (vegetarian) but knew I should go with something a little more healthy. I choose the tofu, pumpkin seed quinoa meal:

It was alright, I do not like rosemary and there were sprigs of it on top of the tofu. I think I probably just had that mac and cheese on my mind.

However I am glad I went to the Home Economist because I saw that they are having a health fair from 1-3 today. They are going to have tons of samples and practitioners there.

Not sure where else today will lead me but life is an adventure and I am all about it.

Until later,

Elizabeth

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

§ 3 Responses to Marti Estes 5k

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Marti Estes 5k at .

meta

