Of Everything Pure and True

April 27, 2010 § Leave a comment

Wow – today FLEW by!

This was my hodge podge salad that I put together using strategic leftovers mentioned in my morning post:

When I got home from work I didn’t know what I wanted to have. After some pondering and creative thinking I decided to make a southern “vegetable plate.” Why the quotes? Well if you do not live in the south you may not have experienced this before. In many home style restaurants you will see on the menu a list of vegetables and the option to have a vegetable plate. Now you may be thinking wow what a healthy option…not so much. Some common items listed as vegetables include: French Fries, Cinnamon Apples, Yams, Cottage Cheese, Collard Greens, Macaroni and Cheese, Sweet Corn, Broccoli and Cheese…ok you see where I am going here.

So I took inspiration of a southern vegetable plate for my dinner. I had cottage cheese, baked cottage fries, green beans and some corn (veggies butter free):

Sometimes I do not like to eat ketchup, it is very salt and chuck full of corn…yes corn.

I decided for a more clean alternative and used a tomato sauce, tomato sauce is a great alternative for ketchup and tastes great with many foods, just make sure to get a clean tomato sauce and not one that is heavily processed.

I am not sure what I am going to do tonight for exercise, it is a rainy cold day here in North Carolina..but I really need to drag my behind to the GYM!

Pears and Pickles-

Elizabeth

Tagged: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Of Everything Pure and True at .

meta

