E2’s Visit

July 19, 2010 § Leave a comment

Friday evening I picked up my friend Elizabeth (yes same name) from the Charlotte Airport. We headed North to Mooresville where I picked up my friends labs (who I was watching) and went to Wilkesboro. Wilkesboro is a beautiful “countryish” town. It is the original home of Lowes (www.lowes.com).

My friends live in a sleepy neighborhood in a 3 story log cabin surrounded by a canopy of trees:

The dogs were happy finally to be able to play outside and be free!

The Brown Lab is Genny:

The Black Lab is Stella:

Western North Carolina and more specifically the Blue Ridge Mountain town of Blowing Rock is a beautiful place. Elizabeth and I visited the actual Blowing Rock and attempted to take some pictures but it was very foggy out:

We decided that we were hungry and went into town to find a restaurant to eat at. On the way down the mountain we saw Canyon’s restaurant. It had a porch overlooking the spectacular view that we paid $6.00 eatch to see up the road. We decided to stop there and eat. Elizabeth is from Boston, MA and is still learning about southern cuisine. I decided to order the hush puppies so she could give those a try:

I had vegetarian tacos with rice and beans:

After this fabulous meal with a view we went into town, did some quick window shopping and went to the main attraction: Killiwan’s Ice Cream! I have heard great reviews on this home-made ice cream and definitely wanted to be able to express my opinion on it. I had the chocolate peanut butter ice cream, and let me tell you it is everything I could have dreamed of and more!

Ice Scream!

Elizabeth

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading E2’s Visit at .

meta

