Operation Beautiful

August 2, 2010 § 6 Comments

I first saw the Operation Beautiful Blog Link on a Facebook Status Update. I immediately spent the next few hours reviewing all the notes and just in awe at the power it provided woman. One particular story that stuck out in my mind was the Netflix employee who opened the disc package to see the Operation Beautiful Note that was stuck inside, and how good that made her feel. The empowerment that this project has given women is priceless. It even helped me.

I am on a journey to lose close to 100lbs. These 100lbs have not always been on this body, but came on quickly. I felt out of control and did not know what was happening. In August 2009 I was diagnosed with Polycystic Ovarian Syndorme. One of the symptoms of this disease is rapid weight gain. Once I got a name to the “illness” I was happy for a short bit, because I knew I wasn’t going crazy. However I was going crazy, mentally. I couldn’t accept myself and had a hard time dealing with not only the weight but everything.

Reading Operation Beautiful led me to believe that I am more than just an appearance, I needed to change my perspective and see myself in a different light. I am now finding my new “normal.” I am not about the number on the scale, or the size on the back of my clothing tag. I am a funfriendlyfunnykind-hearted, good friend and smart WOMAN.

Food blogging has motivated me and helped me make the changes I need to be a healthier and happier person. Reading other people’s blogging experiences are what is pushing me to be the best I can be. I know that I “can do it” and that I “will do it” – it being losing the weight. It will be hard but I am taking it one day at a time, because that is all I can do. I am beautiful, I am strong and most of all I am me.

www.operationbeautiful.com

Elizabeth

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

§ 6 Responses to Operation Beautiful

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Operation Beautiful at .

meta

