Pickle Parting Gifts

August 9, 2010 § Leave a comment

Saturday I started out with a mission: To Create the BEST Pickles Ever! This involved multiple steps which is what I am going to write about on here.

The first step in the process was the inspiration part. I was inspired to create pickles from a blog post I read on The Edible Perspective’s Blog. Such beautiful pickles she created and the steps did not seem to bad. So get your boots on and get ready for some pickling!

I visited the Davidson Farmers Market early Saturday morning in hopes that pickling cucumbers would still be in season. I was surprised to see a nice mount of the cucumbers at the Barbee Farms stand. Cucumber Heaven! I piled up two big bags of cucumbers which totaled around $13.00. I also got 3 cloves of garlic (best garlic on earth) which was $2.00 a piece (ouch!). But since it is the best garlic on earth I decided to bite the bullet and not stress out about how much I paid for it.

My travels then took me to the Healthy Home Market for some organic dill sprigs, coriander and black pepper. I got home and realized that I forgot the vinegar, so out to Food Lion I ran.

This was the recipe that I used for the pickles:

  • 5 smallish pickling cucumbers
  • 8 sprigs fresh dill
  • 2 t coriander seeds
  • 1/2T mustard seed
  • 1T black peppercorns [whole]
  • 4 garlic cloves, halved
  • 1T kosher salt
  • 3/4c distilled white vinegar
  • water to cover
  • This is what the “pickles” looked like prior to liquid added:

    I made a total of 4 jars and it only took about 30 minutes for all of the prep work and cleanup. The recipe said that you can eat the pickles after about 4-6 hours but I am going to let mine sit for 48 hours to let maximum pickling occur. I have already given away 3 jars and have one for myself, but I have about another 6 to make and plan on doing that tonight 🙂

    Pickle love-

    Elizabeth

    Tagged: , , , ,

    Leave a Reply

        What’s this?

    You are currently reading Pickle Parting Gifts at .

    meta

