Sunday Night Cook Out

August 9, 2010 § Leave a comment

Sunday night in the Newidomy household we had a special visitor, Kaytea! Kaytea came over for a cook out. She works 2 job and is a very busy lady so it was great to finally have her over 🙂 We started out the night with a few mocktails… which my brother just could not get over the concept of, but I think he secretly liked it!

On the menu:

  • Chicken kabob
  • Veggie kabob
  • Grilled Shrimp
  • Local Corn on the Cob
  • Fresh Market Cole Slaw
  • Fresh Market Baked Potatoe (1 we all shared and it was the perfect amount!)

I started out the preparation by washing and cutting up 3 red peppers, 1 green pepper, 1 yellow pepper, 1 orange pepper and one white onion.  I then placed all the veggies in a freezer sized ziplock bag with a ginger sesame marinade. I let the veggies marinate for approx 4 hours so they were nice and flavorful. I then put my brother to work and had him cut up the chicken and shrimp. Due to dietary restrictions with seafood and chicken ( I don’t eat seafood and Kaytea doesn’t eat chicken 🙂 we made sure everything was separated. After my brother prepped the chicken, I put the marinade on it and put it in a Tupperware container for approx 3 hours. We didn’t marinate the shrimp because we were going to see how Kaytea liked it prepared. When she arrived at the house, she decided that we should just dump the leftover marinade from the vegetables onto the shrimp.

We all chatted while the food was on the grill, and you just about had to pry Miss Darla Marla out of Kaytea’s arms 🙂 Kaytea has her duce duce birthday coming up this week, she is very cool I told her and my brother that if they go out on her birthday that I would pick them up so they wouldn’t have to worry about a DD.

I must have had one to many mocktails because my pictures came out blurry!

 

The dinner came out super yummy and my brother did a perfect job with grilling the food. He decided that we need a larger grill. I told him that he needs to find someone to give the one we have to and he informed me that we were going to keep it and have two grills, am I crazy enough to do that?! Probably.

It was a fun night with laughs and a great way to end the weekend 🙂

With Lots of Peas-

Elizabeth

Tagged: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Sunday Night Cook Out at .

meta

