I Know My Farms

August 17, 2010 § Leave a comment

Today is CSA Day! It was a great change-up in produce as well….I do not know if I could have handled another week of yellow squash. Today’s selection included: butternut squash (my fav), sweet potatoes, cucumbers, lemon thyme, rosemary, bay leaves, roma tomatoes and baby white potatoes. I was very excited to make a local meal tonight and did just that.

For dinner we had 3 items. 1.) roasted baby white potatoes (local) with garlic (local), olive oil, sea salt, pepper and lemon thyme (local). 2.) Turkey Burgers 3.) Corn on the Cob….yummmm O!

recipe for potatoes:

  1. Take small whole baby white potatoes and wash thoroughly
  2. Use cooking spray and spray bottom of oven safe pan (Le Creuset is my choice)
  3. Add whole potatoes to pan
  4. cut up fresh garlic clove add as much as desired, minimum recommended is one clove and add-on top of potatoes in pan
  5. add 1/2 t of sea salt and 1/2 t of pepper to potatoes in pan
  6. put 2 sprigs of lemon thyme in center of pan
  7. bake in 350 degrees for 40 minutes or until a fork will easily go through potatoes
  8. Serve hot and enjoy 🙂

The turkey burgers were served with roma tomatoes (local), NYS cheddar cheese and HFC free Ketchup:

It’s almost the  end of corn season 😦 But luckily I still have quite a batch to use up 🙂

I am going to relax tonight and watch more of season 2 of Friday Night Lights…I am addicted to this show.

Tomorrow night my friends Christine and Derek are coming over for taco night, super excited 🙂

Today is my day of rest on my 10k schedule too by the way.

Thyme and Thyme again,

Elizabeth

Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading I Know My Farms at .

meta

