Sunday Funday

August 23, 2010 § 4 Comments

I am often very thankful for my life, yesterday was no exception to that. I spent the morning working on my blog and catching up on emails and the afternoon was spent out on Lake Norman. Lake Norman is a beautiful lake and is considered the “area” north of Charlotte from Huntersville to Troutman.

I had a great time on my friend Chae and Seth’s boat. Christine was there to and we had a big discussion about what her hobby should be. She is the one that has been in previous posts and recently got married. I talked her into trying out blogging! Her new blog is called Beyond the Ring and is going to be about finding her way after getting married. There is so much hype and planning that goes into the wedding it seems that brides are often left with the question “What do I do now?” Christine is going to be blogging about this and about other adventures as a newlywed.ย  I hope her blog becomes famous, so make sure and check her out!

When I got home last night my head was spinning with dinner ideas. I have a TON of produce to use up from last week’s CSA pickup… so I knew that had to be involved. I ended up deciding on chicken kielbasa, corn on the cob (local)ย and a sweet potato (local).

It was such a great dinner, I am going to repeat it tonight ๐Ÿ™‚ Plus my brother is out of town all week so I am cooking for one.

This morning I was running VERY late to work and did not have time to make breakfast. I am real nervous eating eggs right now unless I know where they come from. I only purchase eggs from local farmers, but know that restaurants and the cafe at work does not do the same. I am also stopping my dairy intake becuase it is doing a number on my skin and females with PCOS should really limit their dairy intake. I typically would get cottage cheese or a parfait… but as I was looking around at what to get I thought about otameal. They have a big ole’ pot of oatmeal that was just asking to be doctored up. I got myself a container, a banana, a packet of peanut butter, a packet of honey and some granola. Waaalaaa:

Why haven’t I thought of this sooner? Face palm! It was so great, I think this may be my new staple when I am running late and need to eat at the cafe.

What do you do when you need to eat breakfast in a pinch? Do you fast food it? Skip it?

Apples and Oats –

Elizabeth

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , ,

§ 4 Responses to Sunday Funday

  • runrettarun says:

    I typically grab fruit and yogurt or roll w/ cereal if I’m in a time crunch. So just curious about the PCOS and dairy thing. What the deal w/ that? One of my best friends has PCOS and I’m sure she is a yogurt fiend. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Elizabeth says:

      Dairy really upsets your skin if you have PCOS. There are so many odd side effects of PCOS, soemtimes they seem endless. I heard that if you make sure to consume all organic dairy products your skin might clear up, it must be conflicting hormones or somthing

  • Lindsay {DW} says:

    First, that photo of LKN is gooorgeous! Last year, we moved from the lake to the city and I miss it SO much. In fact, we’re talking about moving back up that way, lol.

    Second, that sweet potato looks fantastic! Yum!

    Third, found you on healthylivingblogs.com and was so excited to find some other Charlotte bloggers on here. ๐Ÿ™‚ Loving your blog – can’t wait to read around more. Yay for going unprocessed!!

    Enjoy the day!
    Lindsay

    • Elizabeth says:

      I sometimes think about moving Uptown or to the South End. It seems like such a good idea while I am there, but when I drive north on 77 and see that gorgeous water it makes me change my mind. I am heading over to your blog now! Thank you for stopping by ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Sunday Funday at .

meta

