Baking for a Cure

January 11, 2011 § Leave a comment

Do you ever feel like baking but do not want the end result tempting you until it disappears? Calling your name, “Elizabeth come eat me, I am just one cookie, you took so much time making me and I am so pretty.”

“OK just ONE cookie”, “ok just ONE MORE cookie”, next thing you know it’s “darn where did all the cookies go?!”

I often have this problem, so I try to share with friends, but if it is a weekend and my friends aren’t around I’d rather just not be tempted. I found my answer! Baking for charity.

Just before Christmas I had the idea of having a cookie party, I wanted to have friends over to bake and decorate cookies and bring them home  out of my house for their families to enjoy.  Shortly after sending out the invite, I received an email asking for people to volunteer to bake cookies for a charity…ding! ding! ding!

I kept reading and then looked up the charity: Cookies for Kids Cancer

Their Mission:

“Cookies for Kids’ Cancer is committed to raising funds to support research for new and improved therapies for pediatric cancer. Through the concept of local bake sales, Cookies for Kids’ Cancer provides the inspiration and support for individuals, communities, and businesses to help fight pediatric cancer.”

I immediately replied to the email and changed the theme of my party to be a Cookies for Kids Cancer Party. Instead of my guests bringing the cookies home, the cookies would be donated to a local bake sale event. I also volunteered along with a friend and her child at the bake sale.

Not only did my friends have a ton of fun making and decorating cookies, we raised $250.00 for a charity.

I highly recommend looking over their web page, following them on twitter or liking them on Facebook.

So next time you feel like baking, but don’t want to consume the calories, think of hosting a baking part for Cookies for Kids Cancer 🙂

Cookies and Dreams,

Elizabeth

Tagged: , , , , ,

Leave a comment

What’s this?

You are currently reading Baking for a Cure at .

meta